Skip to main content

Academic Honours & Some Former Pupils

The following information has been extracted from Arthur Hitchins' History of the SGS from 1888-1954. Unfortunately, we have very few details post 1954 but if readers are able to supply information please send to the webmaster

Morton Richardson - Executive Civil Service (about 1958)

David Griffiths - Executive Civil Service (about 1958)

Roger "Gubby" Allen - Executive Civil Service (about 1958)

Professor James Barber - Professor of Biochemistry at Imperial College London since 1989

Raymond Blackman MBE - Editor from 1949-50 and 1972-3 of Jane's Fighting Ships

Professor George Butterworth - Professor of Psychology from 1991-2000 at the University of Sussex and editor from 1988-94 of the British Journal of Development Psychology (see also Obituaries Section)

Sir Robert Cockburn (1921-5) Director of the Royal Aircraft Establishment, Farnborough

W J Evans (1909-12) Lord Mayor of Portsmouth. Founder of one of the biggest engineering companies in Portsmouth and one of the founders of the Old Boys' Association after the First World war

Trevor Fishlock - TV Journalist

Paddy Haycocks - TV presenter and producer

Peter Higgins - Former Head of National Operations, H M Customs & Excise and Director, UK Immigration Service

Roy "Fritz" Kroener - explorer (see also Obituaries Section)

Sir Christopher le Brun - Artist and elected President of the Royal Academy of Art in 2011. Knighted in the 2020 New Year's Honours.

Professor Jim Riordan - Professor of Russian Studies - and played football for Moscow Spartak) (see also Obituaries)

Professor David Marks - Professor of Psychology from 2000-2010 at City University London

Ian Mikado Labour MP from 1945-87

Professor John Northover - Professor of Intestinal Surgery since 2001 at Imperial College London

Alan Pascoe MBE - international athlete

Barrie Pitt - Military historian

Rear-Adml David Sherval CB

Derek Shulman - Senior Vice-President PolyGram Records and formerly singer in pop band Simon Dupree and the Big Sound

General Sir John Stibbon OBE Chief Royal Engineer 1993-9 (see also Obituaries)

David Taylor (1957-64) - Stage and TV actor (stage name David Calder)

Keith Thomas CB OBE, Chief Executive from 1979-83 of Royal Naval Dockyards and of the Royal Corps of Naval Constructors